The Future of Footwear Award Winners and Master Class

The Future of Footwear Award Winners and Master Class

PENSOLE is pleased to announce the 24 winners of scholarships to the Future of Footwear Awards and Master Class, for which Coroflot has once again sponsored five scholarships. Held in partnership with FN Platform at MAGIC and, the master class in Portland, Oregon, started this Monday, June 24, and runs through July 19.

At the end of the third week of class, a panel of industry judges and the PENSOLE Google+ community will vote to select 12 semi-finalists who will have samples of their designs made and be awarded a trip to Las Vegas to have their designs on display at the PENSOLE booth at FN PLATFORM, August 19–21, 2013.

Over the course of the first two days of the trade show, industry experts in attendance and the PENSOLE Google+ community will vote for one design/designer in each category to be crowned the 2013 PENSOLE | FUTURE of FOOTWEAR (total of six winners). The winning designs will have the chance to be sold on

For this year’s program, PENSOLE partnered with sponsors such as Blick Art Materials, WACOM, Red Bull and web-based broadcasting software provider brandlive, who will broadcast the students’ final presentations at PENSOLE and the announcement of the winners live from the FN PLATFORM show.

PENSOLE founder D’Wayne Edwards was pleased to welcome aspiring footwear designers from Denmark, The Philippines, Israel, Mexico and all across the United States. “This is PENSOLE’s first global master class to have five students from Oregon alone. It has been one of my goals to develop a local educational pipeline for the most significant footwear community in the country, and it’s finally happening.”


Full list of scholarship winners:

Iben Johansen (Kolding School of Design, Denmark)
Arturo I. Tolentino Jr. (University of Santo Tomas, Manila)
Ian Black (Crescent Valley High School, OR)
Michael Williams (Academy of Art University, CA)

Malcolm Sands (Miami-Dade College, FL)
Jaime Rojas (Art Institute of Portland, OR)
Siramol On-sri (PARSONS the New School for Design, NY)
Adam MacDonald (Iowa State University, IA)

Anna Smith (North Carolina State University, NC)
Quetzal Ramos (University of Guadalajara, Mexico)
Cody Blazek (University of Houston, TX)
Stefán Cristobal (University of Oregon, OR)

Wichaya Chantarasamee (Art Institute of Portland, OR)
Pedro Badillo (Savannah College of Art & Design, GA)
Jordan Johnson (Grandview High School, CO)
Ray Zavesky (Appalachian State University, NC)

Guy Perez (“The Guild” Tel-Aviv, Israel)
Marcus Taylor (Newbury College, MA)
Lindsey Bench (Academy of Art University, CA)
Jorge Rojas (Art Institute of Portland, OR)

Thomas Le (Purdue University, IN)
Eric Stanley (Academy of Art University, CA)
Zia Ahmad (Academy of Art University, CA)
Stephen Lukes (Art Institute of Santa Ana, CA)